How Much Supply Do I Need? A Webinar Series on Estimating Health Commodity Needs in Emergency Settings

December 18th, 2020 | News

SHARE THIS

Part 1: Planning a quantification exercise and forecasting health commodity requirements
Tuesday, January 19, 2021, 9 am EST/14:00 GMT

Please join our supply chain experts Barbara Lamphere and Gregory Roche for this webinar, the first in a three-part series focusing on the quantification of health commodities, particularly in humanitarian and emergency response contexts. In this webinar, participants will learn about the first two major steps of the quantification process:

  • Planning for the quantification exercise
  • Forecasting health commodity requirements

We will discuss activities and actions that take place prior to conducting the quantification, as well as data requirements and methods for producing the forecasts. Health supply chain managers and program staff involved in quantifying health commodity needs will find this webinar useful.

To attend this webinar, please register here.

Upcoming Webinars:

Part 2: Forecasting consumption of kits for emergency response
Mar 9, 2021, 8am EST/13:00GMT

This webinar is the second in a three-part series focusing on the quantification of health commodities, particularly in humanitarian and emergency response contexts. Continuing from Part 1 of the series, which introduced concepts of health commodity forecasting, this webinar expands on the topic with a special focus on forecasting consumption for emergency kits, as well as other health kits. Participants will also learn what kits are, why they are used, and which kits are typically used in humanitarian/emergency response.

Part 3: Using supply planning to ensure a continuous flow of health products
Apr 20, 2021, 9am EDT/13:00GMT

This webinar is the third in a three-part series focusing on the quantification of health commodities, particularly in humanitarian and emergency response contexts. Building on concepts of planning and forecasting covered in Part 1, and forecasting of kits covered in Part 2, this webinar focuses on supply planning, the third major activity of the quantification process. Participants will learn how to translate forecast quantities into procurement quantities and we will review how to schedule in-coming shipments to ensure a continuous supply of products in a country.


 

This webinar series is sponsored by the Building Capacity to Improve Pharmaceutical and Medical Commodity Management In Humanitarian and Disaster Settings program, funded by USAID’s Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance (BHA), in collaboration with IAPHL. This program supports BHA implementing partners to improve supply chain practices in their crisis response efforts.

For more information about the project and trainings, please contact Nadia Olson (nolson@jsi.com).

Partner with Us

We strive to build lasting relationships to produce better health outcomes for all.

Menu